I love shopping for fabrics. Looking at fabrics is one of my favorite ways to spark new creative ideas. Clothing, accessories, quilts, furniture upholstery, the list goes on and on. This trip was dedicated to finding fabric for a few baby quilts and some items for the truck camper.

I headed to my local JoAnn Fabrics store during their President’s day sale and stocked up on some of their newer patterned fabrics and solids.fabric-stack

I picked up a yard of this woodland theme flannel fabric. I had originally gone in with the intent of buying some their  RV/camping scene flannel but they had already sold out of the print I had my eyes on. This print is a good alternative though and the use of the muted colors and simple design makes it less “kitch-y” then most woodland scene patterns. The plan is to use this fabric for some colder weather curtains.

_mg_4463

The second pattern I picked was a couple yards of this white polka dot fabric. At the moment, I have few baby quilts I need to sew and wanted a simple patterned white fabric to go with pretty much all the designs I have planned. This was the perfect find!

_mg_4469

_mg_4473If you spend any time with me, you will quickly find out that I love vintage anything. Naturally, these vintage inspired floral patterns were the perfect choice for the baby quilts I plan on sewing using half squared triangle designs. _mg_4480

I have also been toying with the idea of making a circle skirt for easter using this pattern.

_MG_4483.JPG

I picked this fabric out but I don’t have a specific plan for it yet. I’m going back forth on whether or not I should do a baby quilt or decor pillows. 2017 WILL be the year I learn how to read patterns so I can expand my vault of techniques.

_MG_4493.JPG

I picked up this blue fabric because I was starting a nautical themed baby blanket but I wasn’t happy with the fabrics I had in my stash. The pattern reminds me of The Odyssey which was one of my favorite stories when I was younger. I wasn’t too crazy about the white splotching that happens throughout the fabrics but it wasn’t a deal breaker for the quilt.

_MG_4487.JPG

Going along the same style, I picked this sketched rose pattern because it was sweet without being overly floral for a more modern look.

_mg_4490

The last set of fabrics are two solids that will be the coordinating fabric for quilts using the vintage floral patterns above.

Let me know in the comments below what projects you all are working on!

Stay inspired!

xo

 

2 thoughts on “Fabric Haul

Leave a Reply

